« Back to Miriam Rothschild & John Foster Trust Home Page

Miriam Rothschild and John Foster Human Rights Trust

The purpose of the Trust is to fund an annual lecture promoting the cause of human rights and law reform. 

Past speakers include: The Hon. Dame Miriam Rothschild FRS; Sir Sydney Kentridge QC; Anthony Lewis; Tun Mohamed Salleh Abas; Jerome Shestak; The Baroness Williams of Crosby PC; Professor Amartya Sen; Dr Clinton Bailey and Teddy Kollek; President Mary Robinson; Asma Jahangir, HRH El Hassan bin Talal of Jordan; Professor Martin Gilbert CBE; Professor Sissela Bok; Sonia Picado Sotela; Justice Anthony Gubbay; Dr Mamphela Ramphele; Professor Harold Hongju Koh; Zackie Achmat; Aharon Barak; Professor Martin Rees PRS; Justice Kate O'Regan; Professor William Sutherland; Daniel Fung; Dame Anne Owers; Clive Stafford Smith OBE; Sir Nicolas Bratza QC; Professor David Cole; Lord Lester of Herne Hill QC; Her Honour Judge Sapnara; Suzie Alegre, Thomas de la Mare QC and Anthony Lester QC; Sir David Attenborough; Lord Justice Singh; Amelia Gentleman and in 2022 Sir Jeffrey Jowell KCMG, KC.

The Advisory Committee consists of Sir Jeffrey Jowell KCMG, KC (Trustee), Professor Mary Kaldor, Charlotte Lane (Chair of Trustees), Colm O’Cinneide, Professor Emma Rothschild CMG, Xan Smiley, Baroness Stern of Vauxhall CBE (Trustee).

The texts of many of the lectures are now available on this web site.

Charity Registration Number 327301

© 2008-2023 The Rothschild Foster Human Rights Trust | All rights reserved | Website design and development by CBJ Digital Ltd.